11 Canadian cities make it to Smart21 of 2018 communities contest.

11 Canadian cities are running for Intelligent Community of the Year award.

Intelligent Communities are those which have – whether through crisis or foresight – come to understand the enormous challenges of the Broadband Economy, and have taken conscious steps to create an economy capable of prospering in it.

The indicators of smart/intelligent community are:

  1. Advocacy
  2. Sustainability
  3. Innovation
  4. Digital Equality
  5. Knowledge Workforce
  6. Broadband

Each year, the Intelligent Community Forum presents an awards program for Intelligent Communities and the public-sector and private-sector partners who contribute to them.

The awards program has two goals: to salute the accomplishments of communities in developing inclusive prosperity on a foundation of information and communications technology, and to gather data for ICF’s research programs.

The Smart21 list is announced at least 60 days before the selection of the Top7 and promoted to the world’s media by ICF and the communities involved. The following Canadian cities have entered the contest:

  • Hamilton,Ontario
  • Kelowna, British Columbia
  • Parkland County, Alberta
  • Niagara Falls, Ontario
  • Pickering, Ontario
  • Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Sarnia-Lambton County, Ontario
  • Western Valley, Nova Scotia
  • York (Regional Municipality of), Ontario
  • Olds, Alberta
  • St. Albert, Alberta

In 2017 contest, Edmonton was in the Top 7 Intelligent Communities.