Groundbreaking Sikh episode of CNN’s United Shades of America will be aired again

Published on : May 12, 2018 12:13




The groundbreaking Sikh episode of CNN’s United Shades of America with W. Kamau Bell re-airs Sunday, May 13 at 11 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CT and 8 p.m. PT.

Executive Director, Satjeet Kaur said, “The response to the episode across the nation has been resoundingly positive, and we are thrilled to know that this groundbreaking television moment is immediately making an impact,Our next step is to develop the tools to use this episode to deepen educational impact with employers and educators across the country.”

The original May 6 airing of United Shades of America: Sikhs in America ranked #1 in cable news in the key adult demographic of 25-54. The landmark episode exclusively focusing on the Sikh experience also had the highest reach across cable news in the 10 p.m. ET time period (among 25-54), topping the competition by double digits.

W. Kamau Bell interviews Sikh Coalition co-founder, Harpreet Singh and Sikh Coalition Social Justice Fellow, Winty Singh, along with Yuba City Sikh Mayor, Preet Didbal; Yuba City farmer and community leader, Karandeep Bains; Revolutionary Love founder, Valarie Kaur; Sikh soldier and doctor, Lt. Colonel Kamaljeet Singh Kalsi; Sikh actor and designer, Waris Ahluwalia; and Harpreet’s son, Dilzafer Singh.

The Sikh Coalition spent six months supporting United Shades of Americaproducers with interview research, background resource material and B-roll footage.