Longtime Liberal MLA Mike de Jong enters BC Liberals leadership race.

Vancouver, BC: June 15, 2017 -- Finance Minister and Liberal House Leader Mike de Jong addresses the media in Vancouver, BC Thursday, June 15, 2017. (Photo by Jason Payne/ PNG) (For story by Nick Eagland) ORG XMIT: dejong [PNG Merlin Archive]

B.C. Liberal MLA Mike de Jong is the fifth big name candidate to join the race to replace Christy Clark as leader of the Liberal party.  Mike de Jong says he is entering the race to lead his team, the B.C. Liberals.

Mike said, “I have served two premiers, two leaders over my time here and now I think I posses the expertise, the experience, the talent and the energy to reinvigorate this team.”

Mike joins a quickly growing, crowded field of candidates.

MLAs Sam Sullivan, Mike Bernier and Andrew Wilkinson are already in the race. Recently elected MLA Michael Lee is expected to join his colleagues today. Conservative MP Dianne Watts and Terrace businesswoman Lucy Sager have also entered the leadership contest.