Nobel Prize in Physics goes to gravitational wave U.S. scientists

The Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to three scientists,Rainer Weiss of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Barry Barish and Kip Thorne of the California Institute of Technology  for their discoveries in gravitational waves.

They are the key founders of the first observation of gravitational waves in September 2015.

Gravitational waves are extremely faint ripples in the fabric of space and time, generated by some of the most violent events in the universe.

The waves detected by the laureates came from the collision of two black holes some 1.3 billion light-years away. A light-year is about 5.88 trillion miles.

For the past 25 years, the physics prize has been shared among multiple winners.