Ottawa warns Canadians to avoid travel to Caribbean islands

Global Affairs is warning Canadians to “avoid all travel” to more than a dozen islands in the eastern Caribbean as Hurricane Maria approaches.

The U.S National Hurricane Center said today  that Maria was a Category 3 storm, expected to cross the Leeward Islands late Monday and will approach Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands on Wednesday. Hurricane watches and warnings have been issued for many parts of the region.

Today, the Government of Canada updated its list of Travel and Advisories to including warnings against all travel to:

  • Saint-Barthélemy
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Montserrat
  • Dominica
  • Guadeloupe
  • Martinique
  • Saint Lucia
  • Puerto Rico
  • Sint Maarten
  • Anguilla
  • Virgin Islands (U.S.)
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Saint Martin

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.