Repolling in 48 polling stations of Amritsar bye-poll and assembly constituencies concludes peacefully

Chandigarh February 9: On the directions of the Election Commission of India the Re-Poll at 48 polling stations of Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency and the five assembly segments namely went off peacefully.

In a statement issued here today, Chief Electoral Officer Punjab Mr. V.K. Singh said that the re-poll process at all the places remained peaceful and voters were seen taking part in the process enthusiastically.

Giving further details he said that in the polling stations of total Amritsar Parliamentary and Assembly constituency where re-poll was announced 76.58% voting was recorded while polling stations under Sardulgarh assembly constituency where re-poll was announced witnessed the maximum of 90.33%. Similarly in Muktsar 89.55%, Sangrur, 85.68% and Moga 81.26 % votes were polled.

The details of the percentage of the votes polls as under:
At Booth No. 5 of the Amritsar Vidhan Sabha constituency 91.92% votes were polled today during the re-poll, 68.71% was recorded at polling station No. 31, at 35 total 79.16%, at booth no. 40, 85.9%, at 43 total 67.16% votes were polled, at booth No. 53 , 81.96%, at 62, 75.52%, at 75, 80.4%, 92, 88.16%, at 138, 85.95% at 163, 77.2% and at 166 total 79.36% votes were polled.

For the Muktsar Vidhan Sabha Re-poll, Polling booth no. 2 at Government Elementary School Kaniyawali (Right Wing) witnessed 85% polling where as booth no. 18 at Govt. Elementary School Jandoke (Rt. Wing) had 90% votes polled similarly, Govt. Elementary School Jandoke (left. Wing) also had 90% votes polled. Polling station No. 20 at Govt Elementary School Wattu had 91%, at Govt. Elementary School Veeranwali (Rt. Wing) had 95%, Govt Elementary School burargujar 87%, Govt Elementary School Bajamander 92%, Govt Elementary School near Nagar Panchayat office 93% and Y.S School Thandewal had 83% was recorded.

He further said that Vidhan Sabha Polling booth 97 at Sardulgarh had 90.33% while at Sangrur Polling Booth at Improvement Trust Cola Park had 74.42%, at Govt . ranbir College had 85.82%, Govt Primary School Ghabda had 89.23%, Polling ststion no. 97 had 90.59, Polling ststion at Govt Elementary Primary School Nandgarh had 82.18%, Govt Elementary School Gahlan had 87.97%, Govt Elementary School Dayalgarh had 90.34%, Govt Elementary school Alorakh had 88.13% and Polling Station No. 180 at Govt. Senior Secondary School Nizampur had 80.04%. He further said that Vidhan Sabha polling station no. 145 at Moga had 81.26%.

Similarly at Amritsar Parliamentary Polling Station No. 1 Government Primary School Mehndipur had 68.06%, Polling station at Government Primary school Johal had 91.92 %, Polling Station No 8 at Senior Secondary School Wadala Veera had 65.95%, Polling Station No. 21 at Janjh ghar rohri had 68.70%, Polling Station No.35 at Punjab State Power Cooperation ltd. Majitha had 79.16%, Polling Station No.40 at Kesra Devi Arya Girls School Majitha had 85.9%, Polling Station No. 43 had 67.16%, Polling Station No. 46 had 89.79%, Polling Station No.53 had 81.96%, Polling Station No.57 had 72.17%, Polling Station No. 78 had 62.8%, Polling Station No. 92 had 88.16%, Polling Station No. 124 had 72.37%, Polling Station No. 134 had 74.42%, Polling Station No.140 had 65% and Polling Station No.166 at Government Primary School Panwan had total 72.36% vote polled.