Shiromani Akali Dal wins DSGMC polls

New Update

New Delhi – The Shiromani Akali Dal won the election to the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee (DSGMC), winning 35 out of 46 wards.

The Shiromani Akali Dal defeated the Shiromani Akali Dal-Delhi (SAD-D) of Paramjit Singh Sarna which managed to win only seven seats.

The Akal Sahay Welfare Society and Independents management to win two seats each.

“The polling was held peacefully last Sunday and the counting ended on wednesday without any untoward incident. No formal complaint of any irregularity was received by the directorate,” said Shoor Bir Singh, the director of the Directorate of Gurudwara Elections, Delhi government.


Around 1,75,543 members of the Sikh community, among 3.8 lakh registered voters,voted to elect the members of the Committee that manages gurudwaras as well as educational and social institutions in the national capital.

The Panthak Sewa Dal and the Aam Akali Dal that had fielded 39 and nine candidates, respectively, drew a blank in the election.

The nine co-opted members in the 55-strong DSGMC will be selected within March 16, Singh said.

The newly formed committee’s meeting will be held in next 15 days after the selection of the co-opt members, to elect the pro-tem chairman who will conduct proceedings for the election of the new chairman of the Committee, he added.