Supreme Court approves Trump travel ban on residents of 6 mostly Muslim countries.

Published on : December 4, 2017 11:43

The Supreme Court today allowed the Trump administration to fully enforce a ban on travel to the United States by residents of six mostly Muslim countries.

This is not a final ruling on the travel ban: Challenges to the policy are winding through the federal courts, and the justices themselves ultimately are expected to rule on its legality.

But the action indicates that the high court might eventually approve the latest version of the ban, announced by U.S. President Donald Trump in September. Lower courts have continued to find problems with the policy.

Opponents of this and previous versions of the ban say they show a bias against Muslims.

Just two of nine justices, Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Sonia Sotomayor, noted their disagreement with court orders allowing the latest policy to take full effect.This is the third version of the travel ban that Trump first sought to implement after taking office in January.

The ban applies to travellers from Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen.