Suryakumar Yadav wins ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2022 title

The outstanding batter of India, Suryakumar Yadav, won the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year title with his outrageous and outstanding performances in 2022, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced today.

Suryakumar had a phenomenal year with the bat, shattering a number of records and establishing a standard that had never been reached in the format. He finished the year with the most runs scored, scoring 1164 runs at an insane strike rate of 187.43, becoming only the second hitter in T20Is history to score more than 1000 runs in a calendar year. Suryakumar has scored 1164 runs in 31 games at a strike rate of 187.43 and an average of 46.56.

The year saw Yadav smash 68 sixes, easily the highest ever in a year in the history of the format .The Indian, who scored two hundreds and nine half-centuries, served as his team’s primary hitter throughout the year.

Yadav was at the top of his game at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, scoring three hundreds in as many innings and averaging close to 60. Interestingly, his strike rate was once more exceptionally high at 189.68.

Suryakumar continued his exceptional year after the World Cup by getting his second century of the year in the T20Is in the bilateral series in New Zealand. Earlier in the year, he had already scored a century. In addition, Yadav reached a rating point total of 890, a career high, to claim the top rank in the ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings.

Yadav delivered a number of standout performances throughout the year. But maybe his best performance came against one of the best white-ball teams right now, England, in Nottingham, where he scored his first T20I hundred, an amazing 117 off 55 balls.

In a run chase of 216, Yadav lifted India from 31/3, giving the visitors a chance to reach the goal. India was still a short ways away from a sensational victory that would have established them as a household name, despite his dismissal.